Tires?

• Thank you for being part of this forum. We recently added our 400th registered member. The forum will soon be moved soon to a faster server that should increase performance.

6cuda6

Oct 3, 2019
Ontario, Canada
What 16" tires are people running? What load index as well.

I need 6 and there are 2 things as a mechanic i hate buying.....tires and work boots.... (they are both over priced and you just wear them out in the end)

tmsnyder

Oct 7, 2019
Buffalo NY
I would probably look at General light truck tires. I have a set of their snow tires on my Suburban, load range E, and they are great traction, and cheap. One of their Grabber series tires might be a good fit for the GMC considering the FWD getting stuck on wet grass occasionally. They will age out before you wear them out if you rotate all 6, so I wouldn't be afraid of going with a softer compound and a bit aggressive tread like on some of the Grabbers. The Grabber HD doesn't even look that aggressive, just looks like a normal all season tire. Load range E and run them at 60-65 psi imo.

Christo

Administrator
Staff member
Oct 4, 2019
Weymouth, MA
Oops, I misread the question and thought you were asking about 16.5. There are lots more choices in 16. One option that's very popular in the community is the Michelin Defender LTX M/S. Regardless, you should always use load range E. There's a pretty good discount on the Michelins through FMCA.

MikeB

Oct 26, 2019
Lower Alabama