Engine will not turn.

Gmcrider

Jun 4, 2020
Champlin, Mn
Hi everybody. I'm a new member and proud owner of a 1975. I have done lots of work on the gmc over the last 6 years, one ton front end, six wheel disk brakes, headers with stainless exhaust, full paint job, all myself. But I'm not good with electrical. Here's my problem. She has always started like a champ until about to hours ago after I fill the tank will gas at a local station. And now turn the key and the starter will not engage. Battery is good and everything else is fine. The generator light is on but that has been on for a couple years and it has started fine. My guess is starter silinoid to look at first? All help is appreciated. I'm writing this as I wait for aaa to arive.

JSanford

Oct 4, 2019
Sacramento, CA
Did you try wiggling the transmission selector, or putting it in Neutral? The neutral safety switch can get out of alignment sometimes.

Gmcrider

Jun 4, 2020
Champlin, Mn
I did go through the gears putting it in neutral to pull it back 50 ft so I had a safe place to look at it. I then tightened the positive cable on the starting solenoid, which know was getting power as it sparked as I accidentally hit the block with my wrench. I tried to start it and same thing no go. I then went into the gas station bought a six pack of beer and sat to think. After 2 hours of sitting and no tow truck showing up yet I turned the key again and the SOB fired right up! I drove it home and will dig into it this weekend. I will look into the neutral safety switch and make sure it is all good. Any other ideas? Thank you.

Last edited:

RF_Burns

Oct 3, 2019
Ontario Canada
A couple of things I would check... of course if it now will start again you can't troubleshoot something that is working.

-When it would not start, did to hear a loud click when you turned the key to start? The starter solenoid does make a pronounced bang as the contacts pull in and it pushes out the starter gear into the flywheel.